top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemisssarahjoybrown

A First Year Beyond Expectations

Walking into my classroom on my first day as a teacher, I knew it was going to be a year of learning. There was bound to be challenges and hardships throughout the year, but I was eager to grow through each and every issue I encountered. As the year progressed, I found myself in disbelief as to what challenges arose. They were nothing like I had imagined. Some issues were bigger than others; yet, none of them seem significant anymore.


As I look back and reflect on the challenging days; the days that tested my patience and my passion for teaching, I have realized that nothing compares to the challenge of not knowing when or if I’m going to see my kids again this year. I realized my passion for teaching goes far beyond the curriculum. The students in my classroom became my kids and my love for them has continued to grow as the year has progressed. There is such heartbreak behind the unknown. I knew going into the year what I wanted; what I expected.


I never expected to make history. My students and I will make history this year. We will be part of history lessons in years to come because we have the ability to change the way learning is defined. We no longer need four walls and a dry erase board to define our school. We are the school. We can create a classroom anywhere, anytime.


Our situation is not ideal and yes, I would absolutely love to be back in my classroom with my kids. But today, I choose to look at simply what we have and what we can do with it. We have the ability to make history and we will.


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page